Best Honeymoon Destinations Guide

Thailand Tourist Visa, Thailand

Thailand is a wonderful country bordered to the north by Myanmar and Laos, to the east by Laos and Cambodia, to the south by the Gulf of Thailand and Malaysia, and to the west by the Andaman Sea and the southern extremity of Myanmar. People from most of the countries need a visa to visit this country so here is a simple guide to the visa procedure of Thailand. Thailand Tourist Visa can be either availed at the airport for visa on arrival facilities while those need to have it can get them at various Thailand Embassies.

Thailand Tourist Visa

Tourist Visa allows you to stay in Thailand for 60 days. It can either be a multiple or single entry and can be extended for up to another 30 days by means of a visa run. If you want to extend longer than 30 days, you can convert the visa to a Non-Immigrant Visa which will require you to go to the nearby city or country such us Penang and Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Visa on Arrival in Thailand

The Visa on Arrival allows passport holders of 19 countries to enter Thailand. The Visa gives you the permit of staying in the country for 15 – 30 days.

Terms and Conditions for Visa on Arrival

  • Visa on Arrival is granted to you only if you are there as a tourist.
  • You must have a confirmed return ticket to show that they are flying out of Thailand within 30 or 15 days of entry. Open tickets do not meet the criteria. Travelling out of Thailand by train, bus, etc to Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia (including en route to Singapore), Myanmar, etc is not acceptable.
  • You will have to show your return flight tickets on entering Thailand. If you fail to show your return tickets, you will be most likely to be refused entry.
  • You must have funds of at least 10,000 THB per person and 20,000 THB per family during your stay in Thailand. A fee of 1,000 THB is to be paid on entering and is subject to change without notice.
  • However, persons who are not eligible to enter Thailand under the Visa on Arrival and Visa Exemption Rule are advised to obtain visas with the Royal Thai Embassy prior to their visit.
  • Citizens of Bhutan, China, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, India, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Maldives, Mauritius, Poland, Saudi Arabia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Taiwan and Ukraine are eligible for Visa on Arrival.

Visa Not Required for Thailand

  • Citizens of Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Peru and South Korea do not require a visa for stay up to 90 days.
  • Citizens of Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bahrain, Brunei, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Laos, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macau, Malaysia, Monaco, Mongolia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Russia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States and Vietnam do not require a visa for stay up to 30 days.
  • Citizens of Cambodia and Ukraine do not require a visa for stay up to 14 days.

Thailand Over Stay Penalty

  • Overstaying in Thailand attracts a fine of 500 baht per day.
  • Over staying will be punished by being banned from re-entering Thailand for at least five years even if you have overstay by just one or two days.

Leave a Reply

Click to View More Destinations